Live Score IND vs NZ 1. ODI Live Cricket Score Updates: IND 27/0; Dhawan, Gill give India a solid start

Hello and welcome to Sportstars broadcasting the IND vs NZ 1st ODI live at Eden Park in Auckland. Stay tuned as we provide you with the latest updates.

Quiet start by Dhawan, Gill

The Indian openers are taking no chances and appear to be enjoying the friendly conditions. Both Dhawan and Gill keep an eye on it and don’t rush into their shots. Gill has yet to score a limit and is in no mood to force rash shots.

Slow start from India

Quiet start after the opening games in India as Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill are dead wrong negotiating Tim Southee and Matt Henry. Dhawan hit two nice boundaries and there’s just a hint of momentum, not really threatening and the ball will come up on the bat nicely as the innings progress.

Dhawan, Gil open innings

Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill are in the middle and it will be Tim Southee with the new ball for Dhawan. Here we go!

Shikhar Dhawan throwing

“It’s a fantastic place, I enjoy playing here. No problems hitting first, I would have bowled first. I have a feeling the wicket is a bit sticky but the sun is shining and it should dry soon. We’ve played a few series with this team before. It is a good opportunity for all youngsters to show and showcase their talents. We are very fortunate that we have Indians all over the world and they continue to support us, we are grateful for that. We have two debutants – Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik.”

New Zealand plays XI

New Zealand Plays XI: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Tom Latham(w), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

India plays XI

India Plays XI: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (w), Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Debut for Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh

Jammu and Kashmir speedster Umran Malik makes debut alongside Arshdeep Singh

throw update

New Zealand wins the toss and decides to bowl first

Pitch report by Murali Karthik & Anjum Chopra

“It’s a beautiful day here in Auckland. It’s a drop-in interface. It’s been sealed for more than a day. We see an even grass cover. The surface can dry out as the game progresses. There’s something in there for the closer. The average score is 250. India will be tempted to chase but it’s all about countering the momentum.”

Likely to play New Zealand XI

New Zealand probably XI: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (C), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

India likely to play XI

India probably XI: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Shikhar Dhawan before India’s game

“We guys have been performing well for a while. At the same time, when I talk about myself, I have to keep performing. I know by the time I perform it would be good for me. It keeps me on my toes and keeps me hungry.”

Gil as opener

Shubman Gill has proven his skill as an ODI opener in a dozen games he’s played to date – he has a 57-plus average and a 100-plus strike rate.

Who will be India’s opener?

Dhawan will be almost 38 at next year’s World Cup. He has scored almost 1,000 runs in ODIs over the past two years. This is the only international format he plays. With T20 taking more precedence, his appearances for India have been fairly sporadic. To put things in perspective, both Kohli and Rohit have played a third the number of ODIs that Dhawan has played, as they have been more focused on Tests and T20Is.

India begins preparations for the 2023 World Cup

After a long and eventful T20 ride, the Indian team will get a welcome break and deal with the demands of a different format for next week. The three-game ODI series against New Zealand, which begins on Friday, marks the start of preparations for next year’s World Cup.

New Zealand squad

Finn Allen, Devon Conway (w), Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Tom Latham

India Squad for New Zealand and ODIs

Shikhar Dhawan(c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson(w), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *